Star Wars Novels

Authors  Book Titles  Home

Aside from creating Star Wars, the most important thing that George Lucas ever did was authorize the writing of novels to extend the Star Wars universe.  The novels revived a flagging interest in Star Wars and encouraged Lucas to move forward with the Star Wars prequels.

The novels are listed below in chronological order.  The dates in parentheses refer to the number of years the novels take place after (or before) Star Wars: A New Hope (the book that that original movie was based upon).  While it is not necessary to read them in order, it is helpful, especially for the novels that take place after Star Wars: Return of the Jedi.  New characters are introduced in these books who reappear in later novels.  Also, prior events are often referred to in subsequent novels.

Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace (32 years before) by Terry Brooks

Star Wars: Rogue Planet (29 years before) by Greg Bear

The Han Solo Trilogy (10 years before) by A. C. Crispin

The Paradise Snare
The Hutt Gambit
Rebel Dawn

The Han Solo Adventures (2-5 years before) by Brian Daley

Han Solo at Star's End
Han Solo's Revenge
Han Solo and the Lost Legacy

The Adventures of Lando Calrissian (2-5 years before) by L. Neil Smith

Lando Calrissian and the Mindsharp of Sharn
Lando Calrissian and the Flamewind of Oseon
Lando Calrissian and the Starcave of Thonboka

Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope (the original movie) by George Lucas

Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina (0-3 years after) edited by Kevin J. Anderson

Splinter of the Mind's Eye (0-3 years after) by Alan Dean Foster

Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (3 years after) by Donald F. Glut

Tales of the Bounty Hunters (3 years after) edited by Kevin J. Anderson

Shadows of the Empire (between Empire & Return) by Steve Perry

Tales from Jabba's Palace (4 years after) edited by Kevin J. Anderson

Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (4 years after) by James Kahn

The Bounty Hunter Wars (during Return) by K. W. Jeter

The Mandalorian Armor
Slave Ship
Hard Merchandise

The Truce at Bakura (just after Return) by Kathy Tyers

Star Wars: X-Wing (6-7 years after)

Rogue Squadron by Michael Stackpole
Wedge's Gamble by Michael Stackpole
The Krytos Trap by Michael Stackpole
The Bacta War by Michael Stackpole
Wraith Squadron by Aaron Allston
Iron Fist by Aaron Allston
Solo Command by Aaron Allston
Isard's Revenge (9 years after) by Michael Stackpole
Starfighters of Adumar (12 years after) by Aaron Allston

The Courtship of Princess Leia (8 years after) by Dave Wolverton

The Thrawn Trilogy (9 years after) by Timothy Zahn

Heir to the Empire 
Dark Force Rising 
The Last Command 

The Jedi Academy Trilogy (11 years after) by Kevin J. Anderson

Jedi Search
Dark Apprentice
Champions of the Force

I, Jedi (11 years after) by Michael Stackpole

Children of the Jedi (12 years after) by Barbara Hambly

Darksaber (directly after Children) by Kevin J. Anderson

Planet of Twilight (13 years after) by Barbara Hambly

The Crystal Star (14 years after) by Vonda McIntyre

The Black Fleet Crisis (16 years after) by Michael P. Kube-McDowell

Before the Storm
Shield of Lies
Tyrant's Test

The New Rebellion (17 years after) by Kristine Kathryn Rusch

The Corellian Trilogy (18 years after) by Roger MacBride Allen

Ambush at Corellia
Assault at Selonia
Showdown at Centerpoint

The Hand of Thrawn (19 years after) by Timothy Zahn

Specter of the Past 
Vision of the Future 

The New Jedi Order (25 years after)

Vector Prime by R. A. Salvatore
Dark Tide: Onslaught by Michael Stackpole
Dark Tide: Ruin by Michael A. Stackpole
Agents of Chaos I: Hero's Trial by James Luceno
Agents of Chaos II: Jedi Eclipse by James Luceno

Authors  Book Titles  Home  Top 

Hit Counter


Search for that special book 



In Association with

 About The Amazon Associates Program

     Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Copyright 1999-2001  All rights reserved worldwide.